Barcelona districts map

Map of barcelona districts spain. Barcelona districts map (Catalonia Spain) to print. Barcelona districts map (Catalonia Spain) to download. Since 1987, Barcelona has been divided into 10 administrative districts (districtes Catalan, distritos Spanish). Each district has its own council led by a city councilor (as its shown in barcelona districts map). The districts are based mostly on historical divisions. Ciutat Vella - (Neighborhoods: La Barceloneta, El Gòtic, El Raval, Sant Pere, Santa Caterina i la Ribera) Barcelona old town, including the medieval Barri Gotic, The Rambles, Raval, and El Born (also known as La Ribera). The Barcelona 10 specific districts, broken down into a further 73 different neighborhoods. In order to be better prepared to find Barcelona apartments for rent here is a quick breakdown of the most important stats and aspects of these districts.

Map of barcelona districts spain

printPrint system_update_altDownload
The 10 Districts in Barcelona are administrative divisions similar to English boroughs (as its shown in barcelona districts map), whereas the barris or neighbourhoods are areas within the district, each of which with its own identity. The current division of Barcelona Districts was approved in 1984, and in 2009 the City Council complicated my definition somewhat by designating 74 administrative barris intended to improve the level of service.
Most of the current Barcelona Districts were originally outlying villages and were incorporated into the City of Barcelona at the end of the 19th century (see barcelona districts map). However, the 1984 divisions were quite arbitrary often cutting off sections of old municipalities and adding them to others for no particular reason and the 2009 designation of Barcelona neighbourhoods can often only be described as eccentric.